On Friday 7th July 2017, the Indian Polo Team defeated Pakistan by 8-7 in the final of the Zone E Play-offs. With this win, the Indian team has qualified for the World Polo Championship to be held in Sydney in October 2017.

The event which took place in Tehran, Iran has seen Team India perform extremely well. The Team which has been trained by Veteran Uday Kalaan comprises of Dhruvpal Godara, Lt Col. Ravi Rathore, Angad Kalan, Siddhant Sharma, Padmanabh Singh and Pranav Kapur.


After beating the hosts, Iran by 10-8 on Monday in their opening match, the Indian Team nudged past a strong South African team by 6-5 thus claiming 2 straight victories and gaining entry into the finals where it faced off against arch-rivals Pakistan.

The goals scored by the experienced players of the Indian team helped them to keep their noses in front. However, the score was tied at 7-7 in the final chukka and it was anybody’s game. In the dying seconds of the match, it was Dhruvpal Godara who scored the winning goal, thus winning the match for his team by a slender margin of 8-7 which took them to the main draw of the World Polo Championship.


Dhruvpal found the goal four times for his team, Siddhant sharma scored two goals while Padmanabh Singh and Angad Kalaan scored one goal each.

We are extremely proud of the Indian team and wish them success for their world championship journey in Sydney.

Write a comment