Polo | people

Glittering Victories at The Indian Polo Awards 2024

The Iconic Taj Mahal Palace in Colaba, Mumbai, set the stage for the Third Edition of TIPA on 12 January 2024. The star-studded affair celebrated the pinnacle of polo excellence, acknowledging the commitment and outstanding performances of the finest polo players during the 2022-2023 Indian polo season.

Glittering Victories at The Indian Polo Awards 2024
The Indian Polo Awards, Season 3

The Sport of Kings-Polo stands as a rare and opulent sport, emanating a regal charm that has endured through the ages. Like a horse’s gait, the sport has walked, trotted, cantered, and galloped through centuries. The sport’s acclaim—and acceptance—came to be associated with the physical and psychological demands it made of a player. This distinctive characteristic, demanding precision and meticulous skill, distinguishes Polo from other sports. At La Polo, we have deeply believed in celebrating the discipline and dedication that goes into the sport. With The Indian Polo Awards (TIPA)—a La Polo initiative—we toast the sportsmen who have toiled hard and exhibited remarkable sportsmanship.

Much like before, this year’s TIPA devoted itself to honouring the legendary team sport, highlighting the strong connection among players, and their equine partners. The Third Edition of TIPA paid tribute to the game, that demands skill, camaraderie, and equine love. About the ceremony, Maninder Sethi, Editor-in-Chief of La Polo, said, “The Third Edition of La Polo-The Indian Polo Awards stands on the firm resolve of making polo sing through the chapters of history, and honouring its present and past custodians who have made the sport a legacy of dedication, resilience and diligence as these champions stand in unity to take polo further into a glorious future.”

Today, young Indians—brimming, blossoming with a strong sense of devotion to the sport—are treading a path that is turning up a treasure trove of a long heritage. With Polo once again finding its exalted niche in the Indian consciousness, it becomes significant that we carefully nurture its growth. But, as in any other sport, it’s necessary to have a system of recognising merit to maintain a steady pipeline of young talent, which has been the singular objective of TIPA.



Here are the winners whose remarkable performances in the 2022-2023 season made a memorable mark in the Indian polo scene:


Baroda Traditional Polo Player: Mohammad Abiddin 

Alwar The Polo Trainer (Civil): Mr Angad Singh

Alwar The Polo Trainer (Army): Nk Irfan Khan of Arty

The Polo Groom: Havaldar

Gwalior The Best Polo Pony: Rapper

Bhopal Pataudi The Best Polo Ground: Jindal Polo Club

Polo Club of the Season: Amateur Riding Club

Emerging Lady Polo Player: Shivangi Jai Singh

The Emerging Polo Player: Savir Mehraj Godara

Emerging Patron: DELTA Corp

Polo Commentator of the Season: Shailendra Singh 

Jammu & Kashmir The Army Polo Player: Maj Mrityunjay Singh Chouhan

The Young Polo Player: Vishwarupe Bajaj

Patiala The International Polo Player: Christopher Mackenzie

Jaipur The Polo Patron: Rajnigandha Achievers

The Promising Polo Player: Dino Dhankhar 

The Best Team (Low Goal): Army Service Corps

The Best Team (High Goal): Rajnigandha Achievers

Contribution to Polo: Suresh Tapuriah 

LA POLO Lifetime Achievement: Naveen Jindal

Jindal Panther The Most Valuable Polo Player: Syed Shamsheer Ali

With the arrival of these standout sporting awards on the polo landscape, it has become possible to aptly and appropriately honour its legacy in the Indian sports scene. Honouring exacting efforts on and off the field, these awards are a token of appreciation for the continuing efforts of people from different aspects of the sport, from prodigious players to stellar stablekeepers.


Polo Legacy of Lord Mountbatten

7 Equestrian Artists